Contrabass Solo part from Allegretto from the Sonata in e minor for Contrabass

page one of the Contrabass Solo part from Allegretto from the Sonata in e minor for Contrabass
This music has been transposed from the original key.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

Static preview

The static preview shows a basic image of the first page.

Interactive preview

The interactive preview also shows a preview of the first page, but it's a bit slower to load. The preview is displayed using the Sibelius Cloud Publishing technology from Avid. With most scores, this technology will provide a higher quality preview, as well as being able to switch to full screen mode and also play the displayed music to you.

Printing after purchase

After you have purchased this item the Cloud Publishing technology is utilised to provide the printing mechanism for the music. As such, we recommend checking that the Interactive Preview displays correctly on your device before committing to a purchase.

Full details

This movement from Benedetto Marcello's Sonata in E Minor for Violoncello, Op. 1 No. 2, published in 1732, was a piece I had to learn on contrabass as a first semester student in my mixed strings class as a music education major in college. I was given only the solo part, an ancient document crumbling with age. This year (many years later) one of the students at Imperial Valley College, where I teach, needed a piece for his first semester contrabass jury. This piece was just about his current ability, so I dug the piece out for him to study. Not having the original accompaniment, I intuited a basso continuo part to go with it. (The cello part was not written separately to save space, so there will be no cello doubling the lowest basso continuo part in the playback.)

Benedetto Marcello
1 minute
Classical music

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.