Trumpet 1 in B^b part from Joyce’s 71st N. Y. Regimental March

Thornton Barnes BOYER
3 minutes
Classical music

The New York 71st Infantry Regiment took part in most of the U. S. Civil War’s major battles. The regiment became part of the New York National Guard after the war ended, and Thomas Joyce founded a wind band attached to it. Thornton Boyer, a military musician from Iowa, wrote this march in their honor in 1881, and J. W. Pepper quickly published it.

Mayhew Lake’s arrangement altered the repeats, added many fills, and changed the trio key from G-flat major (relative to E-flat minor) to the parallel E-flat major. James Barnes faithfully rendered the original score, only updating the scoring for modern instruments. I have added some fills to the 1st strain, edited the woodwind ornaments in the 2nd strain, pruned the scoring the 1st time through the trio, and kept the original D. C. al Fine.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This part was published on Score Exchange by Martin Tousignant. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this part to Martin Tousignant has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this part should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this part using the copyright abuse form.