3rd Violin (Viola ) part from O Little Town Of Bethlehem (2)

Lewis H. Render
2 minutes

The text to O Little Town of Bethlehem is attributed to Phillips Brooks (1835 - 1893), an Episcopal priest from Philadelphia who also served as a bishop of the Diocese of Massachusetts, and a rector of Trinity Church in Boston. Brooks attended the Boston Latin School in his youth, and graduated from Harvard in 1855. He later studied for the ministry in the seminary at Alexandria, VA. Although he declined a position as Professor of Christian Ethics as Harvard, he remained a preacher there, gaining widespread support from students as well as the Episcopal church.

Brooks ventured to the Holy Land somewhere between 1964 and 1868, and the trip provided the inspiration for this now-legendary Christmas carol. While riding on horseback from Jerusalem to Bethlehem, he stopped at the Field of the Shepherds on Christmas Eve to attend a service at the Church of the Nativity. Three years later, with his trip "still singing in my soul," he delivered the five stanza poem to his church organist Lewis Redner, who supplied the melody. The carol was premiered on December 27, 1868, later appeared in the Episcopal hymnal in 1892, and is now enjoyed throughout the world.

This arrangement comes with an additional third violin part, and an optional bass part for use with string orchestra.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This part was published on Score Exchange by Glynn Davies. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this part to ScoreExchange.com Glynn Davies has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this part should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this part using the copyright abuse form.