Violin 1 part from O come, O come, Emmanuel

page one of the Violin 1 part from O come, O come, Emmanuel

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

Static preview

The static preview shows a basic image of the first page.

Interactive preview

The interactive preview also shows a preview of the first page, but it's a bit slower to load. The preview is displayed using the Sibelius Cloud Publishing technology from Avid. With most scores, this technology will provide a higher quality preview, as well as being able to switch to full screen mode and also play the displayed music to you.

Printing after purchase

After you have purchased this item the Cloud Publishing technology is utilised to provide the printing mechanism for the music. As such, we recommend checking that the Interactive Preview displays correctly on your device before committing to a purchase.

Full details

Veni, Veni, Emmanuel (O Come, O Come, Emmanuel) is one of the oldest Advent hymns still in regular use among most Christian denominations. The original text is based on the ninth-century "O" Antiphons. These were seven antiphons sung one per night in the week preceding Christmas. The name refers to the opening words of each antiphon: "O Sapienta" (Wisdom); "O Adonai" (Lord of Might); "O Radix Jesse" (Root of Jesse); "O Clavis David" (Key of David); "O Oriens" (Light of the East); "O Rex gentium" (King of Nations); "O Emmanuel" (Deliverer). The initials form an acrostic – S-A-R-C-O-R-E – which, read backward, is "Ero cras" (I will be there tomorrow), referring to Jesus' arrival on Christmas Day in response to the petitions of the verses.

By the thirteenth century, five of the antiphons had been paraphrased into the Latin hymn "Veni, Emmanuel." A refrain was added as well, "Gaude, Gaude, Emmanuel; Nascetur pro te, Israel" (Rejoice, Rejoice, Emmanuel; Shall come to thee, O Israel), the repetition of text being somewhat unusual for Gregorian chant. The music is a plainsong, probably dating from the same time, documented in a two-voice form as part of a fifteenth-century processional found in a French nunnery. The tune is a modal chant, often performed in its two-voice version. Like most early antiphons, the melody is primarily syllabic, with a very even rhythm, and moving within a limited range, the largest interval being a fourth.

The hymn gained widespread use with a four-part harmonization and English translation, published in the 1850s by Thomas Helmore and John M. Neal. Neal was a translator of several hymns, while Helmore revived the use of Gregorian chant in Anglican services. In modern performances, the addition of an organ accompaniment serves to magnify the words of the refrain.

2 minutes
Classical music

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.