Violin I part from Passacaglia and Fughetta in Memoriam: Elliot Del Borgo (1938-2013)

Joel Jacklich (A.S.C.A.P.)
7 minutes
Classical music

Mitch Sturman, director of the Wilson Jr. H. S. “Warrior” Band in El Centro, CA, asked me to compose a piece to commemorate our mutual friend, composer Elliot Del Borgo, who passed away only a week after he had conducted one of his commissioned works at 2013's "Concert of Premieres" at Wilson. The result was the Passacaglia and Fughetta in Memoriam Elliot Del Borgo (1938-2013).

The two sections were originally conceived as two separate ideas, hoping one would come to fruition. Both sections began to take root, so eventually the two pieces were combined into a single piece.

At Mr. Sturman's suggestion, the passacaglia begins with the three initials of Mr. Del Borgo’s name: E(flat), D, B(flat) and continues in a downward motion in ¾ time (typical of passacaglias) and represents sadness at his passing.

The Fughetta theme (in its original form before being transposed to combine with the passacaglia) was Mr. Del Borgo's name spelled out musically:

E (the pitch E), L (La=A), L (La=A), I (Ti=B), O (Do=C), T (Ti=B);

D (the pitch D), E (the pitch E), L (La=A);

B (the pitch B), O (Do=C), R (Re=D), G (the pitch G), O (Do=C).

When the two ideas were combined. The fughetta theme was transposed from its original in A minor/C Major key scheme to E minor/G Major in order to parallel the G minor of the opening passacaglia. Where the passacaglia represented sadness at Mr. Del Borgo's passing, the fugato section represents the arrival of a feeling of peace.

Joel Jacklich, El Centro, CA, April, 4, 2014

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This part was published on Score Exchange by Joel Jacklich. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this part to Joel Jacklich has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this part should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this part using the copyright abuse form.