Bassus part from O admirabile commercium

Ludwig Senfl
4 minutes

O admirabile commercium is the first Psalm Antiphon at all Offices on the Feast of the Circumcision (January 1), also on January 5 and at First Vespers of the Purification (February 1). In some rites, including San Marco in Venice, the set of Antiphons beginning with O admirabile commercium is sung at all Mary Offices between Epiphany and Purification. It is presumably because of its use at the Purification that the piece was so often set - although Byrd's setting is clearly for the Circumcision, Senfl's, Willaert's and Josquin's can clearly be understood in relation to the Purification.Senfl's setting has a rather unusual scoring, with SATT and F5 clefs. Although the Bassus does not reach lower than F it is worth considering adding an instrument - a sackbut or dulcian would be appropriate. I have uploaded a separate part for Bassus, other parts are available from me.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This part was published on Score Exchange by Michael Procter. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this part to Michael Procter has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this part should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this part using the copyright abuse form.