Double Bass part from Hidden Duos

10 minutes
Modern classical music

Hidden Duos was written in 2007 and was revised in 2014 after hearing the Kwa-Zulu Natal Philharmonic Orchestra read through the score. It is for a small chamber orchestra of single woodwinds and brass, piano, percussion and strings. It is in two movements that play without a break – a Moderato followed by an Adagio, the latter essentially being a passacaglia.

The Moderato, subtitled ‘Dialogues and Conflict’, opens with a scrunching chord that forms the basic harmonic and melodic structure of the piece. The instruments constantly form ad hoc duets and these represent for the composer the various relationships we encounter in our lives, whether professional, family, personal or even spiritual. Some of these duos are subtle and not too obvious, hence the word ’hidden’ in the title.

The Adagio movement acts as a calm resolution to the first movement, building to a dramatic climax, followed by a meditative coda.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This part was published on Score Exchange by Malcolm Dedman. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this part to Malcolm Dedman has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this part should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this part using the copyright abuse form.