Oboe (in lieu of oboe d part from Fractured lines

An interpretation of Contrapunctus 1 from The Art of Fugue

J. S. Bach
4 minutes
Classical music

The Art of Fugue was Bach’s final (unfinished) contrapuntal Testament, in which he sought to demonstrate as many different technical and stylistic treatments of a single theme as he could. This interpretation of Contrapunctus 1 is influenced by Webern’s approach to arranging and to orchestration, and has fragmented Bach’s themes and reconstructed them, so that the piece is made up not of unbroken melodic lines, but of tiny pieces of musical mosaic. The arrangement is for a modified Wind Quintet, using the darker colours of alto flute, oboe d’amore and alto saxophone in place of flute, oboe and clarinet. Ossia parts are available for oboe or cor anglais, to replace the oboe d’amore if necessary.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This part was published on Score Exchange by Peter Foster. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this part to ScoreExchange.com Peter Foster has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this part should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this part using the copyright abuse form.