Clarinet in B^b part from Heldenmusik 5 Die Rüstung for Wind quintet

5. Armament

Georg Philipp Telemann (1681-1767) Arr. Peter Baljeu
2 minutes
Classical music
Other parts

Telemann was a master at writing interesting melodic lines. That is certainly the case in his Heldenmusik or Heroic Music, a collection of 12 "marches" of which this is the fifth. Each march depicts some aspect of heroism, in this tune, Armaments. I suppose that is to be able to effectively bear arms? Some of the other pieces in the suite have titles such as "Grace", "Love", "Bravery’ and so on. Although the music was originally written for solo instrument (violin, flute, or oboe), this arrangement takes the melody (shared by the flute and oboe) and bass (bassoon) and fills in the continuo part for the middle voices.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

Static preview

The static preview shows a basic image of the first page.

Interactive preview

The interactive preview also shows a preview of the first page, but it's a bit slower to load. The preview is displayed using the Sibelius Cloud Publishing technology from Avid. With most scores, this technology will provide a higher quality preview, as well as being able to switch to full screen mode and also play the displayed music to you.

Printing after purchase

After you have purchased this item the Cloud Publishing technology is utilised to provide the printing mechanism for the music. As such, we recommend checking that the Interactive Preview displays correctly on your device before committing to a purchase.

Licensing for this music

This part was published on Score Exchange by Peter Baljeu. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.