Horn part from Shore's Trumpet

John Shore
6 minutes
Classical music
Other parts

These six movements by Jeremiah Clarke and John Shore represent the kind of pieces written for natural trumpet with strings in the time of Purcell, and shortly after. They were used as entra-acte tunes in the theatre, or for ceremonial occasions. They are intended to be played simply and gracefully, with ornamentation limited to cadential trills.

John Shore (1662-1753) had an extraordinary career as a trumpeter, teacher and lutenist, and lived to the age of 91. He inspired Purcell, Clarke and others to write entertaining and lusterous music for the trumpet, at which Shore was a master.

Jeremiah Clarke (1673-1707) has been overshadowed by Purcell, to whom many of his works have been wrongly attributed. As well as the catchy theatre tunes such as those included in this selection (Shore's Trumpet; Trumpet Minuet) he wrote two operas and worked at Drury Lane. Unfortunately, Clarke took his own life after being spurned by a female pupil.

The only piece in the collection of unknown provenance is the "Trumpett" (3rd movement), whereas movements 1, 5 & 6 are almost certainly by John Shore.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This part was published on Score Exchange by Graham Dixon. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this part to ScoreExchange.com Graham Dixon has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this part should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this part using the copyright abuse form.