1st Trumpet in Bb part from Passacaglia and Fugue in C Minor - First Version (Brass Quintet)

11 minutes
Classical music

Brass Quintet arrangement of J.S.Bach’s Passacaglia and Fugue in C Minor.

I’ve tried to keep the arrangement as close to the original organ score as possible. Where some of the original lines go out of the standard range of the instrument, an easier octave is written in small notes.

You can play both the Passacaglia and the Fugue attacca as written, rall two bars before the Fugue and pause on the last note of bar 160 to just play the Passacaglia, or began at bar 161 with the upbeat from the 2nd trumpet to just play the Fugue.

If played without a conductor, the piece will work at the same tempo throughout, and there are some optional parts added in to help keep time in sparce places.

If played a with a conductor, the time can be pulled around in different sections to add variety.

The 1st trumpet part can be played on a piccolo trumpet if that makes it easier.

The tuba part can also be played on a bass trombone, and some of the tuba part can be displaced at the octave if desired.

Feel free to contact me if you have any suggestions or if you need a part transposing differently.

Good luck and have fun!

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This part was published on Score Exchange by Matthew Smith. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this part to ScoreExchange.com Matthew Smith has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this part should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this part using the copyright abuse form.