Viola part from Orchestral Piece No.3 - String Soloists

8 minutes
Modern classical music and Classical music

An experiment in scoring for as many string soloists as were required!

It goes through a number of different textures, some drama, a very lyrical middle section (which I extracted and used as a separate piece - see related scores), a very tight 5-part cannon in the third section and a gentle lyrical ending.

I’m always keen to get feedback, particularly if you’re playing any of the larger chamber or orchestral pieces or singing anything I’ve written for choir. I’d particularly like to hear any recordings or see videos! There is no charge, copyright or performing rights issues - feel free to copy and perform for free, just don’t pretend you wrote it! I get many printed downloads my music, so it must be popular, but rarely any messages. So don’t be shy, I’d love to hear from you as feedback is very important to a composer, both to hear what it is people like and critical comments on what doesn’t work or you think could be improved - both kinds of feedback are very helpful.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

This part was submitted by Steve Locks. If you wish to perform, record, or broadcast this music then you should contact them first.

In order to submit this part to Steve Locks has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this part should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this part using the copyright abuse form.