Marimba part from Dreamhunter

The Lost Tribes

5 minutes
World music and Modern classical music

David Vaughan was commissioned to compose this piece for the Iona College Senior Percussion ensemble as part of the Composers in Schools Project Series 2 in 2002 and copies have been sold in Australia, the Netherlands, Peru, the United States, Taiwan, Belgium and the Northern Mariana Islands.

This piece, scored for percussion ensemble, is a representation of a mythical place, hidden deep within the shrouded confines of a jungle. The place is the abandoned stone city of a forgotten civilisation. Once the home of spiritually-inclined tribal folk, the abandoned ruins have been reclaimed by the relentless will of the verdant jungle. Yet the serene timelessness of the jungle has not fully driven away the lingering memory of the former tribal inhabitants, as the spirits of the Enlightened Ones, known as the Dreamhunters, make their otherworldly presence felt to any that stray within the borders of the lost territory. The sounds of unearthly war drums and unseen forces shatter the relative silence of the ancient jungle, causing intruders to flee before the wrath of the eternal spirits of dreams.

Techniques of note are the use of wine glasses (four are required, and are tuned by adding water to them and performed with wet fingers running around the opening of the glasses), the bowing of the vibraphone at bar 69 (a double bass bow is recommended), and the metric modulation in the beginning section of the Coda.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This part was published on Score Exchange by David Vaughan. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this part to David Vaughan has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this part should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this part using the copyright abuse form.