Violin part from Man of Spiel

2 minutes
Classical music and Modern classical music
Other parts

This piece was inspired by a series of children's books, in which the main character is hypnotised into believing himself to be a superhero. Glad in a curtain and his trusty Y-fronts, Captain Underpants becomes the resident superhero of his school, always on guard to fight whatever monsters may be lurking around the school grounds . . .

Man of Spiel was originally scored for piano, flute, bass clarinet, and choir in 2001, but the version presented here is condensed into piano trio form. The violin and cello lines can be replaced by virtually any soprano and bass instrument. This version was performed by the Pimlico High School Palm Trio at the Australian Festival of Chamber Music School Competition in 2002 where the ensemble was awarded second place.

An additional arrangement for piano and choir SAB was sold to William Ross State High School in 2004. Man of Spiel was arranged for the William Ross State High School Vocal Ensemble, directed by Estelle Huxley, in July of 2004.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This part was published on Score Exchange by David Vaughan. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this part to David Vaughan has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this part should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this part using the copyright abuse form.