VIOLONCELLO part from PRAELUDIUM AND FUGE IN C moll for strings

Other parts
Full details...
page one of the VIOLONCELLO part from PRAELUDIUM AND FUGE IN C moll for strings
This music has been transposed from the original key.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

Static preview

The static preview shows a basic image of the first page.

Interactive preview

The interactive preview also shows a preview of the first page, but it's a bit slower to load. The preview is displayed using the Sibelius Cloud Publishing technology from Avid. With most scores, this technology will provide a higher quality preview, as well as being able to switch to full screen mode and also play the displayed music to you.

Printing after purchase

After you have purchased this item the Cloud Publishing technology is utilised to provide the printing mechanism for the music. As such, we recommend checking that the Interactive Preview displays correctly on your device before committing to a purchase.

Full details

Bach was at the peak of his mastery, and it is therefore not to be wondered at that Johann Mattheson , in the earliest reference in print to Bach, commented: 'I have seen things by the famous organist of Weimar, Herr Joh. Sebastian Bach, both for the church [i.e. cantatas] and for the hand [i.e. keyboard music] that are certainly such as must make one esteem the man highly' ( Das Besch?tzte Orchestre, Hamburg 1717). In the year 1717 also occurred the contest in improvisation with the French virtuoso Louis Marchand at the court of Dresden, in which Bach was brilliantly victorious (in fact the competition never took place because Marchand refused to participate). So it is only understandable that Bach must have felt himself neglected in the appointment for the post of court Capellmeister in Weimar on the death of Johann Samuel Drese (Drese's son received the appointment). He accepted an equivalent offer from the court of C?then and left Weimar in anger, after a month's arrest 'for his stubborn forcing of the issue of his discharge.'

From mid-December 1717 in C?then Bach was completely absorbed in his new sphere of work as Capellmeister to the prince's court, under an intelligent ruler who was a musical enthusiast. The emphasis of his work lay in the instrumental field, now principally in the sector of orchestral and chamber music. For this he relied on a picked ensemble largely consisting of Berlin musicians, with which it was possible to play the finest and most difficult pieces. Early in 1719 he procured from Berlin a new large harpsichord, which then was presented at the court in the 5th Brandenburg Concerto. He produced concertos for all kinds of instrumentation, over and above the conventional, but also accompanied and unaccompanied solo works, particularly for violin, violoncello and viola da gamba. In addition he composed two major keyboard works, the Inventionen und Sinfonien and the first part of the Well-Tempered Clavier. Vocal music plainly fell behind, although he wrote various occasional works, of which however only the texts have been preserved.

3 minutes
Classical music
Other parts

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.