Drums part from Jaywalker

By Mike J.D. Roberts
5 minutes
Jazz music

Jaywalker is a pleasant big band swing piece in the chilled out style of the Count Basie big band.

It's written to be playable by bands from High School level up. The flute part, though I highly recommend it as I think it adds a delightful touch, is not strictly necessary & directions are included in the score and parts for the flute-less big band to perform the piece.

The chart is so-called because the main tune came to me as I was sauntering across a road without the aid of traffic lights or a zebra crossing …. i.e. jaywalking (in England, where it's not illegal!)

I do hope you enjoy the piece. You are most welcome to download and perform it and I would love to know if you do! Please drop me a message at michael.roberts@ucl.ac.uk with any comments you might have.

Thanks for listening!

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This part was published on Score Exchange by Michael Roberts. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this part to ScoreExchange.com Michael Roberts has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this part should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this part using the copyright abuse form.