Flute part from PLEYEL, Ignaz: Quartet in D (after Op. 41, no 4) for Flute Choir (2fl, afl, bfl)

Ignaz Pleyel (1757-1831)
16 minutes
Classical music
Other parts

Pleyel, once so famous, is now almost forgotten. Yet the melodic charm of much of his work is undeniable. The present piece is an arrangement of a delightful sonata that enjoyed several reworkings by Pleyel himself: my copy-text is the 1797 string trio (2 vlns, cello) in D (Benton 410), which was itself an arrangement of the Piano Trio in Bb of 1796-7 (Benton 468). It also exists as a somewhat obscure Flute Quartet in D, famously and beautifully played by Rampal on the L’Oiseau Lyre disc of 1960, Four Eighteenth-Century Flute Quartets. I have added a part for the alto flute, and made flute 2’s part more elaborate than the original’s 2nd violin. A fine long Allegro movement leads into a brief and undistinguished Andante, which is succeeded in turn by a brilliant and irresistible Polonaise. Well worth playing!

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This part was published on Score Exchange by Douglas Brooks-Davies. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this part to ScoreExchange.com Douglas Brooks-Davies has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this part should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this part using the copyright abuse form.