Ped. part from Suite for Organ

31 minutes
Modern classical music
Other parts

The Suite for Organ is in five movements. Each movement lasts c.5 minutes, except the last, which lasts c.10.

The Suite may be performed as a whole, selected movements may be played together, or movements may be played individually. Although the Suite is essentially a concert work, the individual movements are suitable for use as voluntaries.

Mov I: Intrada This movement evokes something of the sound world of Kenneth Leighton, although Intrada is not a Leighton pastiche. It is a dissonant but tonally-centred movement that explores the relationships between contrasting ideas. It has great rhythmic drive and acidic harmonies.

Mov II: Aria This movement contains both lyrical melodies and contrapuntal writing.

Mov III: Fugue This mercurial movement is more scherzo than fugue – although getting your fingers and feet around it is no joke!

Mov IV: Scena Sensuous and just a little bit French, this movement calls for delicious registrations and a real sense of drama.

Mov V: Toccata-Sortie This grand finale to the Suite is a white-hot pot-boiler that has audiences on the edge of their seats. Its performance requires stamina (particularly on a mechanical action instrument), agility and (most of all) a huge amount of flair.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This part was published on Score Exchange by Christopher Maxim. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this part to Christopher Maxim has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this part should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this part using the copyright abuse form.