Timpani part from Messenger of the Sea

6 minutes
Classical music

Messenger of the Sea, a piece composed and arranged by John Pasternak, is originally based off of the mythological story of Triton, son of Poseidon. Within Greek mythology, Poseidon is the Lord and Master of the sea and Triton served him as his messenger, letting all creatures know of the Sea God’s will.

The piece opens up with the horn gliss of Triton’s conch shell, which was rumored to have a sound so bad that it caused fights between giants. The piece later goes on to musically paint a picture of those giants’ struggle.

From there, the piece moves through the ocean with Triton. As the Sea God’s messenger, Triton travels all across the globe visiting mystical and mysterious reefs and coral beds. After this section concludes, the piece returns to previous material to signify the return to work as the Messenger of the Sea.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This part was published on Score Exchange by John Pasternak. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this part to ScoreExchange.com John Pasternak has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this part should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this part using the copyright abuse form.