Bass Clarinet in B^b part from Marcha Militar

Juan Crisostomo de Arriaga adapted for modern concert band by Carlton King
3 minutes
Classical music

Arriaga became known as "the Spanish Mozart", having been born 50 years to the day after the Salzburg master and having also been a childhood prodigy. At age 16 he headed off to the Paris Conservatoire, where he was quite a hit, but apparently pushed himself too hard. He died 10 days short of his 20th birthday. of some combination of lung disease (tuberculosis?) and exhaustion. Arriaga wrote this march at age 13, for the military band of his time, likely one in his native Bilbao, in Basque Spain (where today you’ll find the Teatro Arriaga). The four percussion parts are directly from the original. The original was in C-major, including clarinets/trumpets/horns in C, flute in D, piccolo in F. serpent in Bb (written in bass clef but transposed), bassoons, and trombone.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This part was published on Score Exchange by Carlton King. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this part to Carlton King has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this part should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this part using the copyright abuse form.