Clarinet 2 in B^b part from 1812 Overture (Highlights)

5 minutes
Classical music

The late Arthur Fiedler made the 1812 Overture an U. S. 4th of July (Independence Day) tradition by performing it on Boston’s Esplanade in 1974, complete with artillery. The Boston Pops concert was televised, so millions more saw and heard Tchaikovsky’s overture, perhaps not knowing it depicted Russia’s victory over Napoleon’s French army, not the U. S. victory over Britain. At any rate orchestras around the U. S. added the 1812 Overture to their 1975 Independence Day programs and have kept it there ever since.

Tchaikovsky disparaged the work as "very loud and noisy…but lacking artistic merit." While it certainly is loud, I must disagree with the composer’s assessment. Except for the too-long descending scale passage, this is effective, clear program music. I have cut the descending scale passage by about half without losing continuity.

This version contains the opening chorale and skips forward to the French anthem sequence (rehearsal N in my full version, rehearsal A here). If your audience is "just here for the fireworks," you might find this short version useful.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This part was published on Score Exchange by Martin Tousignant. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this part to Martin Tousignant has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this part should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this part using the copyright abuse form.