Flute part from Serenade for Winds in d-minor for Wind Quintet Mvmt 2 Menuetto

for Wind Quintet

Antonin Dvorak, Opus 44 Arranged By Darrell Goforth
6 minutes
Classical music

After seeing a performance of Mozart's Serenade in Bb in Vienna during early 1878, Dvorak was so impressed that he resolved to create a new piece in that style. In only 14 days he had produced the Serenade for Winds, Cello and Bass in d-minor. While the piece bears some similarity to Mozart's work, it is distinctly Czech in nature and uniquely Dvorak. The Serenade is reminiscent chamber works performed in the castles in Prague and has a rococo air that will please any player and listener. Originally scored for 10 winds (pairs of Oboes, Clarinets and Bassoons, a Contrabassoon and 3 horns) and 2 strings (Cello and Bass), I have arranged it here for 5. I can assure you that it took me more than 14 days. I am certainly no Dvorak, but I think the final product has done a good representation of the original work.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This part was published on Score Exchange by Darrell Goforth. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this part to ScoreExchange.com Darrell Goforth has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this part should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this part using the copyright abuse form.