Clarinet in Bb part from Transmutations

8 minutes
Modern classical music

Transmutations was written in 2012 and is for flute, clarinet, saxophone and piano. The wind instruments each double up on another instrument: the flautist also plays alto flute, the clarinettist also plays bass clarinet and the saxophonist plays both soprano and alto. In one continuous movement, this piece lasts around 8 ½ minutes.

The title suggests change, or transmutating, such as the changes that occur in nature, for example, one chemical element to another, etc. The changes in this piece are purely musical, there being four main sections framed by bridge passages, an introduction and a coda. The introductory five bars state the main melodic idea on the wind instruments, and it is this that is transmutated throughout the four sections. The first main section is a fast dance in an irregular rhythm; the second is a slow elegy; the third is a series of cadenzas for each of the four instruments in turn and the fourth returns to some of the music from the first, but extending the last few bars into a slow coda, resulting in a peaceful conclusion.

Transmutations was written at the request of the clarinettist Guido Arbonelli.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This part was published on Score Exchange by Malcolm Dedman. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this part to Malcolm Dedman has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this part should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this part using the copyright abuse form.