Guitar part from Six Epigraphes Antiques 1. Pour Invoquer Pan, Dieu du Vent d’Ete

Six Epigraphes Antiques

Claude Achille Debussy (arr. Lisa Marie Gabriel)
2 minutes
Classical music

Written four years before his death in 1918, the Six Epigraphes Antiques show Debussy’s mature style had lost none of its exuberance and magic. I used to play these on the piano with a friend who was a far more skilled pianist than I was. Needless to say, I learned to love Debussy early on. Transcribing for guitar gives me a chance to pass some of this on to other guitarists who may not be able to play the piano and I include TAB for those who need help to locate notes. Positions are not set in stone, they are just a suggestion. This arrangement for guitar trio sticks closely to the first edition with only a few changes to accommodate the range and subtlety of the classical guitar. Suitable for intermediate players and reasonably easy although guitar 1 has some notes "up at the dusty end of the fretboard".

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This part was published on Score Exchange by Lisa Marie Gabriel. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this part to Lisa Marie Gabriel has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this part should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this part using the copyright abuse form.