Part 3 part from The Mince Minuet

4 minutes
Classical music

"Mince" is a term used by many Scots in a derogatory manner as in "That's mince" meaning "That's rubbish". I was looking for a Haydn/Mozart minuet and trio to use for a class ensemble with some S3 pupils (age 14yrs or so) and found a likely looking Haydn Minuet and Trio from a Symphony. I started trying to write instrumental parts suitable for the pupils I had in my class but ended up thinking "This piece is mince, I could write something just as drab as this but stuff it full of teaching points" so I did, hence the Mince Minuet. Fans of Haydn please don't deluge me with emails of complaint about the status of Haydn as a composer. Tt's just that the Minuet I got hold of was really, really prosaic. Not that mone is any better you understand, but it is chock full of teaching points, all of which are embedded in the score.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This part was published on Score Exchange by Steven Griffin. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this part to Steven Griffin has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this part should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this part using the copyright abuse form.