Trumpet 2 in B^b part from Alte Kameraden (Old Comrades)

Carl Teike arr. Martin Tousignant
5 minutes
Classical music

Carl Teike—soldier, police officer, and composer of “Old Comrades” and a hundred other marches—was born in Altdamm, Germany in 1864, the son of a blacksmith. He served in a German army band under a resentful bandmaster whose meager talent he eclipsed. When he proffered his new march, “Old Comrades,” to his bandmaster in 1889, he was told to “throw the score in the oven, we have marches enough.” Having already met his service obligation, Teike thus proffered his resignation and was promptly accepted into the police academy.

I have transposed the entire score down a minor second to C major/F major concert. If your quintet plays this for an Oktoberfest, I hope that you stipulate real German beer as payment. After all, "friends don’t let friends drink Bud Light" at a Fest!

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This part was published on Score Exchange by Martin Tousignant. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this part to Martin Tousignant has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this part should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this part using the copyright abuse form.