Viola part from Orchestral Variations On A Theme

13 minutes
Classical music

It was Mr Kent Moore who offered this intriguing little theme as a subject for a composition. The elements exploited in this set of variations are (1) the ambiguity between G major and E minor, (2) the climbing sequence in bars 4 to 7 and (3) the rising D-E-F#-A figure in bar 8, which is used both as a melodic device and imitatively in harmonisation of the melody (bars 21 and 22). The final note of Mr Moore�s theme was G natural but I have taken the liberty of altering it to E natural to establish the key as E minor in preparation for the canonic treatment in Var. 1, which is possible only in the minor. The relation of each variation to these elements is, I think, self-evident with, perhaps, the exception of Var. 3 where the brass plays the theme note for note in reverse.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This part was published on Score Exchange by Barry Stronge. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this part to Barry Stronge has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this part should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this part using the copyright abuse form.