Home > Orchestra > Christmas Suite - ’The Story of Christmas’ > Percussion III, Bass Drum, Cymbal, Snare part

Percussion III, Bass Drum, Cymbal, Snare part from Christmas Suite - ’The Story of Christmas’

A Symphonic Poem for Orchestra

15 minutes
Other and Classical music

A Symphonic telling of the story of Christmas! I began working on this piece in Summer 2014, whilst it was strange working on Christmas music whilst the sun was still shining I had long wanted to write a ’Christmas Symphony’ which re-told the Nativity story in a engaging and cinematic way.

After the celebratory fanfare opening, the Nativity story is recounted through carols such as; ’Once In Royal David’s City’, ’The Angel Gabriel’, ’Tell Out My Soul’, ’O Little Town of Bethlehem’, ’O Tannenbaum’, ’Angels From The Reals of Glory’, ’Deck The Halls’, ’God Rest Ye Merry Gentlemen’, ’Away In A Manger’, ’Coventry Carol’ and ’O Come All Ye Faithful’ with many references to Classical repertoire and other well known Christmas tunes along the way.

This is sure to be an audience favourite with well known Christmas Carols re-imagined in an exciting cinematic way!

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

This part was submitted by Martin Higgins. If you wish to perform, record, or broadcast this music then you should contact them first.

In order to submit this part to ScoreExchange.com Martin Higgins has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this part should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this part using the copyright abuse form.