Oboe part from Elgar: Music for Wind Quintet:Four Dances: Music for a wind quintet of 2 flutes,oboe,clarinet and bassoon (arranged wind quintet)

Four Dances

E ELGAR Trans.Ray Thompson
14 minutes
Classical music

Four Dances: 1.Menuetto 2.Gavotte ("The Alphonsa") 3.Sarabande 4.Gigue. One of Elgar’s earliest compositions. They were written in 1879. Originally wriiten for the "Shed" quintet of Elgar and his close friends. 2 flutes, oboe, clarinet and Bassoon. Elgar played the bassoon. Rearranged for standard wind quintet. Individual movements are available separately.(see related scores)

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

This part was submitted by Ray Thompson. If you wish to perform, record, or broadcast this music then you should contact them first.

In order to submit this part to ScoreExchange.com Ray Thompson has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this part should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this part using the copyright abuse form.