page one of the Bass Clarinet in B^b part from Musicentric

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

Static preview

The static preview shows a basic image of the first page.

Interactive preview

The interactive preview also shows a preview of the first page, but it's a bit slower to load. The preview is displayed using the Sibelius Cloud Publishing technology from Avid. With most scores, this technology will provide a higher quality preview, as well as being able to switch to full screen mode and also play the displayed music to you.

Printing after purchase

After you have purchased this item the Cloud Publishing technology is utilised to provide the printing mechanism for the music. As such, we recommend checking that the Interactive Preview displays correctly on your device before committing to a purchase.

Full details

This piece was composed beginning in January of 2014, when I was a junior in high school, shortly before my 17th birthday. My friend, Joe Heyman, to whom the piece is dedicated, challenged to make a New Year's resolution to write a symphony as my next great work, following providing an original score to the winter play at my school only a month before. At first I was apprehensive to take on the task, doubting my abilities as a composer at such a young age. But I accepted and began work.

The primary motive in the piece (beginning at rehearsal B) is based upon a motive I wrote for the winter play in a scene involving a tornado. And the rest of the piece fell into place around it in only a few months of consistent composing and orchestrating. By the time April came around, I was mostly done composing the first movement of what was then supposed to be a four movement symphony, and spent the rest of the year orchestrating the first movement, and editing it and editing it and editing it. As I began composing material for subsequent movements, eventually composing enough material to form a full symphony, I realized that the first movement was complete. That it any further material added to it would diminish the effect of the action packed ending.

The piece later donned the title "Musicentric," which to me is a fun mash up of "eccentric music." The piece opens with a somber clarinet solo, playing all alone, until friends join in. The lyrical period is then passed to the piano and French Horn to add a new color and sense of mystery before the whole ensemble joins in to develop the shadowy whisper of the solo before they explode from the darkness is a hectic transition to the primary motive. The piece then takes on a sine wave of activity, going back and forth between tense, soaring, action filled melodic lines, and soft and somber moments, ending with a restatement of the solo in a brighter key.

I hope you enjoy Musicentric!

Jason C

7 minutes
Modern classical music

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.