Violin II part from String quartet No. 2 in E minor, Op. 40 - II. Allegro lusingando

4 minutes
Modern classical music
Other parts

The 2nd string quartet is neo-romantic and consists of 4 movements: a very lively and passionate one in sonata-form, with i.a. some fugatic development; a bright and lively allegro also in sonata-form (in the reprise both themes come in reverse order); a contemplative adagio (which I wrote after listening to the famous one from Barber); and a passionate and noble finale based on two themes. Please enjoy the digital performance made in Sibelius 6 with Garritan Personal Orchestra, and feel free to comment under my videos on my YouTube-channel.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

This part was submitted by Geert Van Hoorick. If you wish to perform, record, or broadcast this music then you should contact them first.

In order to submit this part to Geert Van Hoorick has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this part should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this part using the copyright abuse form.