1st trumpet Bb part from Danse Bacchanale for brass quintet

Saint - saens
7 minutes
Classical music

Danse Bacchanale, quite a famous piece of Saint - Saens, though I don't think as well known as the Danse Macabre which I published for brass quintet some weeks ago. This would make good concert piece, though strong players, particularly the tuba part are needed. I was a lttle concerned about the breathing for the poor old tuba player particularly around bars 105 to 146 etc. I took the score to a friend of mine who is a pro tuba player and he played it straight from the score. When this motif occurs later in the score around bar 347, I have split the part with the trombone. There is the option of the tuba playing the part all the way through leaving the trombone to play the melody line which really enhances the piece at this point. I hope you enjoy this, constructive reviews please.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This part was published on Score Exchange by Ian Cartwright. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this part to ScoreExchange.com Ian Cartwright has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this part should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this part using the copyright abuse form.