Violoncello part from G.F. Handel - Verdi Prati (arranged for string quartet), Op. 27

George Frideric Handel
2 minutes
Classical music
Other parts

This beautiful aria belongs to Handel’s opera Alcina. In it Ruggiero bids farewell to the sorceress Alcina’s enchanted island after escaping her charms. Ruggiero reflects on how the natural beauty of the island will decay as soon as Alcina’s magic powers falter.

The aria is a masterpiece of dramatic writing at a key point in the opera, as it powerfully communicates a variety of feelings ranging from serenity, sadness and even desolation, concluding peacefully. It is a very moving piece, demonstrating how with simple means (in the form of straightforward dance-like lyrical music) Handel could create the most magic of moments.

My arrangement respects Handel’s original part writing but I have changed some notes here and there. Particularly, I have added more texture for the alto part in the middle sections of the piece. The dynamics are fully mine, and I have also added some ornaments and slurs, all necessary to arrange the music for string quartet.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This part was published on Score Exchange by Jordi Vives i Batlle. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this part to Jordi Vives i Batlle has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this part should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this part using the copyright abuse form.