Horn 1-3 in F* part from Symphony No. 5 - Finale

Anton BRUCKNER, WAB 105 (1878)
17 minutes
Classical music

The disasterous December 1877 Vienna premiere of his Symphony No. 3 shook Bruckner’s confidence, but he pressed on to write his Symphony No. 5 in 1878. He had written a contrapuntal finale for his 1869 "Nullte" Symphony, but his Symphony No. 5 finale fully realized the concept, marrying contrapuntal mastery with attractive content.

The symphony had to wait until 1894 for a successful premiere in Graz, Austria under Franz Schalk. Upon studying Bruckner’s score, Schalk realized that Bruckner miscalculated the formal structure of the Finale. He therefore cut much of the contrapuntal development to improve its cohesion. Schalk also realized that although Bruckner’s musical ideas were quite sound, his scoring did not present them in their best light. Using his orchestral conducting experience, Schalk thoroughly revised the scoring throughout, both to vary the texture and to reserve the massive brass writing for the final chorale. Schalk’s cuts excised earlier appearances of the chorale theme, thus ensuring its "crushing" power once it finally arrived.

Schalk’s revisions have been fiercely debated elsewhere. I would refer interested readers to David Aldeborgh’s articles posted on www.abruckner.com.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This part was published on Score Exchange by Martin Tousignant. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this part to ScoreExchange.com Martin Tousignant has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this part should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this part using the copyright abuse form.