Violoncello I part from Adagio for strings, Op. 56

page one of the Violoncello I part from Adagio for strings, Op. 56
This music has been transposed from the original key.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

Static preview

The static preview shows a basic image of the first page.

Interactive preview

The interactive preview also shows a preview of the first page, but it's a bit slower to load. The preview is displayed using the Sibelius Cloud Publishing technology from Avid. With most scores, this technology will provide a higher quality preview, as well as being able to switch to full screen mode and also play the displayed music to you.

Printing after purchase

After you have purchased this item the Cloud Publishing technology is utilised to provide the printing mechanism for the music. As such, we recommend checking that the Interactive Preview displays correctly on your device before committing to a purchase.

Full details

It’s difficult as composer to compose pieces that bear the same name as very famous ones, because the comparison can turn out very badly. There is but one Adagio for strings and that’s Barber’s one. Nevertheless this piece is so awesome that I wanted to compose also one. The first ideas for my Adagio for strings date from 2012 (hence the opus number). Since then quite many beginnings and even a totally composed piece have been deleted because of too weak. Then in 2015, after a start-over and failure again, came the lucid idea to make an arrangement for strings from my by so far (imo) best slow movement. The Adagio for strings, Op. 56 therefore is an arrangement from the Adagio sostenuto from my Organ Symphony No. 2, Op. 30 (dating from 2008). It’s a slow neo-romantic piece in Lied-form. It’s intimate, moving and flowing, and based on two long-singing themes. Please enjoy the digital performance made in Sibelius 6 with Kontakt Gold. A video with the score moving is on my YouTube-channel.

6 minutes
Modern classical music

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.