Sleigh Bells part from Snowy Walk and Sleigh Ride

6 minutes
Modern classical music and Classical music

An early morning walk through fresh snow with expectation of a treat to come. Passes through different snowy scenes, a little shivering in the cold, then warm up as you pass into the sunlight. Ends with a great gallumping sleigh ride.

It features sleigh bells from 0:40 and a fresh out-doors breezy feeling at the start which makes me think of a happy and carefree early morning walk in the snow. There are also trills, like shivering with cold and excitement, passed around the orchestra in the first section. After passing the first main theme around the orchestra, string soloists take over for a while against light orchestral background. A warm tune is then heard in brass which is repeated in a close canon then taken over by strings. Cold sets in and there is some shivering but the sun soon comes out to reveal a glorious snowscape. A light and carefree tune follows, then a build up to the climax of the sleigh ride which quickly gets going at full pelt by 4:27. The music for the sleigh ride is taken from the opening motif and is extended and basically repeated a number of times, but each repeat is slightly twisted, emphasised differently and with changes to the orchestration. The sleigh ride gives me a strong image of how the horse would look trotting rapidly, muscles twitching and mane swishing and hooves kicking up the snow. I thought of finishing with this sleigh ride after seeing the seasonal challenge here and would maybe like to make the section from 4:27 to the end into a 3 minute or so piece on its own of just the sleigh ride (with a build up).

This is part of an experiment in orchestral writing, where I'm writing a suite of Orchestral pieces, trying out different moods, orchestration techniques, effects and ideas all as part of the foothills to my ambition which is to write a decent symphony. The other parts of the suite (so far) are in the related scores. I've plans to write about 15 or so of these short orchestral pieces before embarking on a symphony.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This part was published on Score Exchange by Steve Locks. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this part to Steve Locks has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this part should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this part using the copyright abuse form.