Violin 3 part from Rhapsody in Blue - string octet / string orchestra

George Gershwin
6 minutes
Classical music

This is a string octet arrangement of Gershwin’s famous Rhapsody in Blue. It features many instruments at various points and is exciting and challenging to play across the whole group. It has been performed many times and is an impressive concert item.

This arrangement will work with a larger string orchestra as well by simply doubling up the parts. There are also optional parts provided for glock, drum kit and timpani.

The first 2 or 3 bars will need to be rehearsed in order to make the trill, 2 glissandi and then the top B flat as smooth as possible - it should sound like one instrument.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

This part was submitted by Austin Ralphson. If you wish to perform, record, or broadcast this music then you should contact them first.

In order to submit this part to Austin Ralphson has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this part should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this part using the copyright abuse form.