Violin 2 part from Bach: " A Selection of Inventions" (Two Part Inventions Nos.1,3,4,5,6,13,15) arr. violin duet

page one of the Violin 2 part from Bach: " A Selection of Inventions" (Two Part Inventions Nos.1,3,4,5,6,13,15) arr. violin duet
This music has been transposed from the original key.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

Static preview

The static preview shows a basic image of the first page.

Interactive preview

The interactive preview also shows a preview of the first page, but it's a bit slower to load. The preview is displayed using the Sibelius Cloud Publishing technology from Avid. With most scores, this technology will provide a higher quality preview, as well as being able to switch to full screen mode and also play the displayed music to you.

Printing after purchase

After you have purchased this item the Cloud Publishing technology is utilised to provide the printing mechanism for the music. As such, we recommend checking that the Interactive Preview displays correctly on your device before committing to a purchase.

Full details

J S Bach wrote his “Inventions and Sinfonias” as musical exercises for his pupils.They are a collection 30 short keyboard pieces, 15 in two part writing and 15 in three part.They are more commonly known as the two part and three part inventions. The two groups of pieces are both arranged in order of ascending key, each group covering eight major and seven minor keys. The inventions lend themselves to duet transcriptions and I have done so for a number of them using a duo of 2 violins. I have taken some liberties with the notes in the 2nd violin part to avoid any "clash" with the upper part. I have also transposed the violin parts so they are playing within a comfortable range. Number 1 is now in G major, rather than C major, and the inventions all retain their relationship with this key: so no 15 is now in F sharp minor rather than B minor. They are all excellent exercises in playing scales/arpeggios in their varying keys.Individual inventions are also available. See related scores for details. Numbers included 1,3,4,5,6,11 & 15.

J S Bach
11 minutes
Classical music
Other parts

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.