Horn 1 in F part from Mozart: "The Hunt" (String Quartet No.17 K.458 in Bb) Mvt. I. arr. horn quartet

W A Mozart
7 minutes
Classical music

String Quartet No. 17 in B-flat major, K. 458, nicknamed "The Hunt", is the fourth of the Quartets dedicated to Haydn. It was completed in 1784[1] It is in four movements: 1 Allegro vivace assai 2 Menuetto and Trio. Moderato 3 Adagio, in E-flat major 4 Allegro assai Neither Mozart nor Artaria called this piece "The Hunt." "For Mozart’s contemporaries, the first movement of K.458 evidently evoked the ’chasse’ topic, the main components of which were a 6/8 time signature (sometimes featuring a strong upbeat) and triadic melodies based largely around tonic and dominant chords (doubtless stemming from the physical limitations of the actual hunting horns to notes of the harmonic series). I have arranged the 1st movement for a horn quartet, as well as transposing it into Eb. This suits the range of the horn. It would be impossible to transcribe for natural horn so I have left the parts for horn in F, with a key signature. Quite a long blow: i have transcribed all the repaeats but it practise they could/should be omitted. Hn 4 in bass clef (new notation) throughout. I will add a treble clef idc. Hn1/3 requirea good technique to cope with runs! I suggest a steady Allegro, rather than a Vivace!.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

This part was submitted by Ray Thompson. If you wish to perform, record, or broadcast this music then you should contact them first.

In order to submit this part to ScoreExchange.com Ray Thompson has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this part should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this part using the copyright abuse form.