Vocal part from Tout l’univers obéit à l’amour (Alain Jacques / La Fontaine) Angel's arr.

The whole universe obeys Love

2 minutes
Classical music
Other parts

This poem has also been set to music by Robert Ballard and Michel Lambert in the XVII century, by Charles Gounod, Castil-Blaze, Ignaz Pleyel, Jean-Baptiste Weckerlin etc. in the XIX century.

Literal translation (AJ):

1. The whole universe obeys Love Pretty Phyllis submit to him your heart The other gods, to this god pay court And their power is less than his flame.

Chorus: Of the young hearts it is the supreme asset (/good). Love, love, all the rest is nothing; Love, love, all the rest is nothing!

2. Without this Love, so many objects delightful, These flowery meadows, woods, gardens and fountains, Have no charms that are not languishing And their pleasure is less sweet than his pain.

Chorus: Of the young hearts it is the supreme asset (/good). Love, love, all the rest is nothing; Love, love, all the rest is nothing!

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

This part was submitted by Alain Jacques. If you wish to perform, record, or broadcast this music then you should contact them first.

In order to submit this part to ScoreExchange.com Alain Jacques has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this part should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this part using the copyright abuse form.