SA part from For He Shall Give His Angels [MENDELSSOHN] (from the oratorio ELIJAH), for SATB voices and Soprano Solo with Organ Accompaniment

Felix Mendelssohn arr. by Pamela Webb Tubbs
3 minutes
Classical music
Other parts

Felix Mendelssohn was a German composer, pianist, organist and conductor of the early Romantic period. His oratoio ELIJAH (Op. 70, MWV A 25) premiered in 1846 at the Birmingham Festival. The piece was composed in the spirit of his Baroque predecessors Bach and Handel, whose music he loved; however, in its lyricism and use of orchestral and choral color the style clearly reflects Mendelssohn’s own genius as an early Romantic composer. The oratorio depicts events in the life of the Biblical prophet Elijah, taken from the books 1 Kings and 2 Kings of the Old Testament. "For He Shall Give His Angels," set with text from Psalm 91, originally was scored for Double Quartet (or Double Chorus) and full orchestra; this slightly abbreviated arrangement features a lowered key, organ accompaniment and re-voicing to accommodate a smaller choir with limited range.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

Static preview

The static preview shows a basic image of the first page.

Interactive preview

The interactive preview also shows a preview of the first page, but it's a bit slower to load. The preview is displayed using the Sibelius Cloud Publishing technology from Avid. With most scores, this technology will provide a higher quality preview, as well as being able to switch to full screen mode and also play the displayed music to you.

Printing after purchase

After you have purchased this item the Cloud Publishing technology is utilised to provide the printing mechanism for the music. As such, we recommend checking that the Interactive Preview displays correctly on your device before committing to a purchase.

Licensing for this music

This part was published on Score Exchange by Pamela Webb Tubbs. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.