Horn in F part from Afgan National Anthem (Milli Surood “ملي سرود”) for Brass Quintet

Composed by Babrak Wasa Arr:Keith Terrett
2 minutes
World music

The national anthem of the Republic of Afganistan arranged for Brass Quintet.

In 2004, the new Afghan constitution stated that a new national anthem for the country, requested by the post-Taliban government to signal a new era for Afghanistan, must be written in Pashto and contain the phrase “Allahu Akbar” (God is Great), and mention the names of the ethnic groups in Afghanistan. The winning composition was created by two Afghans living outside the country due to the war.

There has been some criticism of the anthem due to the above stated conditions of composition, that the Pashto requirement places less importance on the other languages spoken in the country; that the phrase “Allahu Akbar” should not be used in the anthem, as it is a sacred phrase in Islam and should not be set to music; and the ethnic groups mentioned in the anthem still do not represent the entire spectrum of nationalities in the country.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This part was published on Score Exchange by Keith Terrett. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this part to ScoreExchange.com Keith Terrett has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this part should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this part using the copyright abuse form.