Violoncello part from Himno de Riego Variations, Op. 25a

Jose Maria de Reart y Copons
2 minutes
Modern classical music
Other parts

The Himno de Riego is an anthem composed in honour of Rafael del Riego, a liberal military man that rose against the despotic Spanish king Fernando VII in 1820. It was the official National Anthem and March during the period of the Second Spanish Republic (1931 - 1939). After the Civil war it was banned and replaced by the current Royal March, or Marcha de Granaderos, by the dictator Franco. Today, this music, which combines a certain popular, street atmosphere with liberal and republican ideals, evokes a certain nostalgia for what was not allowed to be but might be some day.

The authorship of the music is hotly disputed but several historians point at one don Jose Maria de Reart y Copons (1784 - 1857). In essence the piece is a contredanse, which was the ancestor of the 19th-century quadrille. Typically played by military band, I have rendered it for chamber ensemble (string trio and piano). The harmonisation and elaboration of the different parts (except for the original tunes composing the three repeating sections) is wholly mine.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This part was published on Score Exchange by Jordi Vives i Batlle. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this part to Jordi Vives i Batlle has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this part should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this part using the copyright abuse form.