Tenor Saxophone part from Le Maître sans Baton

page one of the Tenor Saxophone part from Le Maître sans Baton

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

Static preview

The static preview shows a basic image of the first page.

Interactive preview

The interactive preview also shows a preview of the first page, but it's a bit slower to load. The preview is displayed using the Sibelius Cloud Publishing technology from Avid. With most scores, this technology will provide a higher quality preview, as well as being able to switch to full screen mode and also play the displayed music to you.

Printing after purchase

After you have purchased this item the Cloud Publishing technology is utilised to provide the printing mechanism for the music. As such, we recommend checking that the Interactive Preview displays correctly on your device before committing to a purchase.

Full details

Written in 2016, Le Maître sans Baton is a duet for saxophone and piano and lasts 8¾ minutes. Three saxophones are employed, soprano, alto and tenor, these being played by the same player.

This piece is dedicated to the memory of Pierre Boulez who lived from 26 March 1925 to 5 January 2016. The title is both a reference to his composition Le Marteau sans Maître and his style of conducting – without a baton, even when commanding large orchestral forces. The piece is an acknowledgment of how he brought new music by many of his contemporaries to a wider audience. It makes no attempt to pastiche his compositional style.

The work has three sections: slow, fast, slow, played without a break. The first section uses tenor saxophone which plays a lyrical melody over a chordal accompaniment in the piano, with the exception of one phrase where the main theme is in the piano. This leads to the second section which employs the soprano saxophone and is based on a bouncy melody in 9/8 and 6/8 time. This section finishes with a short cadenza for the saxophone which leads directly into the final section, for alto saxophone. Here, a development of the original theme is heard over a chordal and arpeggiated accompaniment. The work ends calmly in a high register.

9 minutes
Modern classical music

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.