Viola part from Concert no. 5

John Baston
5 minutes
Classical music

Concert no. 5 from John Bastons famous "Six Concertos", which he published in 1729. This concerto includes three parts (allegro, andante & presto) and is best played by a woodwind instrument (e.g. recorder or similar), two violins, a viola and a harpsichord (piano).

Little is knows about the life of John Baston. He was an English recorder virtuoso and came from a family of professional musicians which played in London theatre orchestras in the beginning of the 18th century. From 1711 to 1733, at the height of his carreer, he appeared regularly as a solist and played his recorder concertos during theatre intermissions.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This part was published on Score Exchange by David Jimmink. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this part to David Jimmink has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this part should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this part using the copyright abuse form.