1st Trumpet in B^b part from TOOT SUITE

William MacSems
10 minutes

Toot Suite Program Notes Toot Suite was written for Tony Emrich, my friend and comrade in arms, so to speak. We served together in the USAF Band. This composition, has a duration of 9 minutes, 21 seconds, includes five short movements with unique and contrasting styles and character.

1. Fanfare: dur. (1’16”) The thematic material is typical of the traditional stereo -type and is born from a combination of quartal and tertial harmonies. A contrasting canonical interlude separates the beginning and ending phrases.

2. An OK Choral: dur. (3’13”) was first written for brass and then successfully transcribed for chorus and then re-transcribed, with some minor changes, back into a piece for brass quintet. It is labeled with the key of Db major but has difficulty in identifying with tonality and mode. It is like a homeless wanderer, knocking on various doors in search for a home and identity. It is in the final cadence that the search comes to an end in the stable key of Bb major.

3. Pocito Mexicana: dur. (1’ 58") reflects the style of the Mariachi band and the spirit of the Mexican Fiesta. The meter alternates between 3/4 and 6/8 much the same as the Spanish dance, the Seguidilla.

4. Nostalgia: dur. (2' 10") is a simple but lyrical and flowing melody and warm harmonies all of which make for pleasant listening and a moment of reverie.

5. Surprise March (1' 33") begins with a short introduction followed by a repeated, sprightly, eight measure phrase and a slight extension or development section, followed by a fanfare introduction to the surprise, which is a variation set in a jazzy/blues style.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This part was published on Score Exchange by William MacSems. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this part to ScoreExchange.com William MacSems has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this part should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this part using the copyright abuse form.