Violoncello part from Piano Quartet

6 minutes
Modern classical music and Classical music
Other parts

A movement for piano quartet (piano, violin, viola and Cello) written 4-12th May 2016. The idea came from listening to my daughter’s submission for her A-level music composition which was for this instrumental combination and impressed me with many things, but particularly intrigued me with her interesting string articulations (she’s got grade 8 violin, whereas I only play the piano). So I’ve attempted to also put in detailed articulation and dynamics for my piece. I also pinched the high skipping figure from my daughter (first heard in violin bar 13) which was just the start of a phrase she used that I liked, otherwise it’s all my own work (I’ve only pinched 2 notes and an accent and the general inspiration!)

I’ve tried to make it tuneful and rhythmic with much interplay between the instruments. I’ve also attempted to develop themes and motifs (even the opening warming note) - and to thicken the texture or tweak the chords when they return. There is also a little drama and repose interspersed.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This part was published on Score Exchange by Steve Locks. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this part to Steve Locks has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this part should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this part using the copyright abuse form.