Trumpet in C part from Bach: Passacaglia and Fugue in c-minor BWV 582 for Brass Quintet

BWV 582

J. S. Bach arranged by Darrell Goforth
Full details...
page one of the Trumpet in C part from Bach: Passacaglia and Fugue in c-minor BWV 582 for Brass Quintet
This music has been transposed from the original key.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

Static preview

The static preview shows a basic image of the first page.

Interactive preview

The interactive preview also shows a preview of the first page, but it's a bit slower to load. The preview is displayed using the Sibelius Cloud Publishing technology from Avid. With most scores, this technology will provide a higher quality preview, as well as being able to switch to full screen mode and also play the displayed music to you.

Printing after purchase

After you have purchased this item the Cloud Publishing technology is utilised to provide the printing mechanism for the music. As such, we recommend checking that the Interactive Preview displays correctly on your device before committing to a purchase.

Full details

Composed between 1706 and 1713, the Passacaglia and Fugue in c-minor is one of Bach’s earlier works. It remains an important piece even today as it sets the standard for the passacaglia form. Like many of Bach’s work, this piece lends itself particularly well to the brass repertoire. This arrangement is both technically challenging and aurally pleasing. I have used the trumpet in both C and B-flat for their different timbres, but it will sound as well with two trumpets in the same key. On a performance note, I would suggest that you position the players from left to right in the following order: Trumpet in C, Horn, Tuba, Trombone and Trumpet in Bb. This order will become apparent especially at measure 113, where the sound begins a circular pattern which I think you will find pleasing. Comments and questions are always welcome at my email: Please "like" me on Facebook at and visit my YouTube channel at

J. S. Bach arranged by Darrell Goforth
13 minutes
Classical music

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

Cover art for Trumpet in C part from Bach: Passacaglia and Fugue in c-minor BWV 582 for Brass Quintet