Side Drum part from Fanfare - The Highway Decorators

1 minute

A fanfare based on the traditional Scottish tune "The Drunken Piper". It was first performed by fanfare trumpeters from the Band of 51 Highland Brigade at the annual lunch of the 51st Highland Division Officers' Club in 2000. The title comes from the propensity, during the Second World War, of the 51st Highland Division to paint its emblem wherever it went - hence "The Highway Decorators" as the Division became known. For details and the logo see:-

"The Drunken Piper" was chosen as the basis for the fanfare, as it is the tune generally used for the Scottish Country Dance "The Reel of the 51st" which was devised by officers of the 51st Highland Division in German captivity after the capture of the Division at St Val�ry-en-Caux on 12th June 1940. See:-

for details.

The Band of 51 Highland Brigade is proud to retain the "HD" emblem as its logo to this day.

Whilst designed for fanfare instruments, it can be played perfectly well with normal trumpets/cornets on the fanfare trumpet parts, trombones or euphoniums on the fanfare trombone parts and a tuba or bass trombone on the bass parts. Percussion parts, though desirable, are optional.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This part was published on Score Exchange by Graeme Abernethy. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this part to Graeme Abernethy has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this part should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this part using the copyright abuse form.