Violoncello part from Variations on Mendelssohn's Wedding March for String Quartet

7 minutes
Classical music
Other parts

This set of variations, based on the famous Wedding March from Mendelssohn's music to A Midsummer's Night Dream, was written for my sister who invited me to play the cello part in a string quartet for some incidental music for a wedding reception. However, she happened to mention in passing that she didn't like the wedding march, so I never told her about the variations. It's probably just as well really - this stuff is rather heavy for a wedding reception, and I would have had to copy out the parts by hand (no Sibelius in those days!)

Each variation has a subtitle, reflecting my own rather cynical view of marriage. I speak, of course, from the lofty position of complete ignorance of the marital state!

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This part was published on Score Exchange by Richard Bowles. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this part to Richard Bowles has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this part should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this part using the copyright abuse form.